JavaScript is disabled or not supported! Endowment Board of Directors - Miles Community College
Close Pop-upClose Pop-up
Endowment Board
Board of Directors Contact Information
Donald J Hartman– President
Mark Petersen
Garret McFarland
Sheryl Cathey
Ginger Carpani
Joe Bennett
John Laney
Martha Mintz
Brady Patch
James P Lucas, Emeritus
Miles Community College Endowment
2715 Dickinson Street
Miles City, MT 59301
Phone: 406.874.6165
Toll Free: 1.800.541.9281
Fax: 406.874.6277

Donald Hartman: Donald Hartman Donald has been married to his wife, Melissa, for forty-nine years and has three children; John, Mary Pat, and Jennifer. He has ten grandchildren and one great grandson. Don attended one year at Miles Community College and went on to become a Certified Public Accountant since 1975.

He has been a member of the Kiwanis for thirty-two years and was President from 1990-1991. He has also been a member of the Knights of Columbus since 1972. He was the State Deputy from 2000-2002. He has been a member and Treasurer of the MCC Pioneer Club for twenty-one years and a member of the MCC Endowment board for thirty-six years, currently serving as President. Don has been a Montana State University Booster since 1984. He enjoys golfing and watching all the local sports at the high school and college.

Mark Petersen: Mark Petersen Dr. Petersen is the Research Leader USDA-ARS Fort Keogh Livestock & Range Research Laboratory. As the Research Leader, his job responsibilities are to conduct range and range livestock research, supervise personnel and over all operations.

Mark has earned a BA in Animal Science/Zoology from the University of Hawaii, MS in Animal Science from the University of Idaho, and a PhD in animal Science from the University of Nebraska. He has received numerous awards including Teacher of the Year - College of Agriculture (Montana State University) 1991, Friend of the Student - College of Agriculture (Montana State University) – 1986.

Garret McFarland: Garret McFarland Dr. McFarland was elected to the Board of Trustees in 2005. He has been a dentist in Miles City for 17 years. After growing up in Fort Benton, MT, he received his bachelor’s degree from Carroll College and received his DDS from the University of Minnesota Dental School.

Along with being a Trustee for MCC and member of the MCC Endowment board, Garret is also active in Kiwanis, Miles City Club board, and Town and Country Club.

Sheryl Cathey: Sheryl Cathey Sheryl graduated from Custer County District High School. While married and with children at home, she attended Missoula Vocational Technology Center where she received her Associated of Applied Science Degree in Office Administration. She also has a Certificate in Bookkeeping. Entering college as a non-traditional student was very rewarding. She was happy to learn the skills needed that quickly allowed her to enter the workforce.

Sheryl was an office assistant at the Hungry Horse News in Columbia Falls, MT; a clerical assistant at the Financial Aid Office at Missoula Vocational Technical Center (workstudy); an assistant for Investment Executives at Piper Jaffary in Missoula, MT; and spent fifteen years as the school secretary at Hellgate Middle School in Missoula. In 2008, Sheryl and her husband, Bill, returned to Miles City. She is currently the co-owner of several LLCs located in Miles City.

In Sheryl's free time she has volunteered on local and state soccer organizations and served on a community credit union board. She is married with three children and five grandchildren.

Ginger Carpani:

Joe Bennett:

John Laney: John Laney

Martha Mintz:

Brady Patch:

James Lucas: James Lucas

Minimize The MCC website actively supports Internet Explorer 8 and above. Please update your browser.
Popular modern browsers:FirefoxGoogle ChromeInternet ExplorerOperaSafari
The MCC website supports Internet Explorer 8 and above. Please update your browser.